Daily Accountability Check-in 07/31/2023

Jared Viernes
3 min readJul 31, 2023

--

Happy Monday everyone! This is daily accountability check-in, where I take a moment to share my goals for today and the progress I’ve made. Thank you for being my accountability partners!

I woke up today at my standard 4:45 AM having gone to bed at 10:00 PM last night. This morning I felt pretty sore and considered skipping my morning workout, but practiced the self-discipline to still get out there. I didn’t run, but took a day of active recovery which you can see based on my heart rate in the image below.

This is a picture of my workout this morning on the treadmill, it shows an avg bpm of 94 since I took today as an active recovery day.

This morning I finished the audiobook “Discipline Is Destiny: The Power of Self-Control” by Ryan Holiday. The book was just what I needed at this time to encourage me along in my journey of self-discipline and accountability shared in these posts. If you are someone who likes continuous improvement of oneself, this is a good one to read or listen too.

Also this morning I finished my morning chores, and had my shower. I had considered not shaving this morning, but as I am trying to instill good habits and a regular routine I took the time to do it. The little things matter because if we let those slip by, the next step is the larger things. Doing the little things right helps to do the big things right too.

I called my academic advisor at Southern New Hampshire University, but didn’t get through. Hoping she calls me back today.

Accomplishments Yesterday

Yesterday, I mostly ate healthy but I recently caught a catfish that I had already prepared into catfish nuggets. So, I allowed myself a little fried catfish po boys. I was really proud of catching that catfish because I actually did it by hand. Check out the size of it!

Monster Catfish I caught by hand

I finished a chapter of my book yesterday which was my primary goal and did a little cleaning up around the house. I got to spend quite a bit of time with my two of my sons. Playing Borderlands 3 with one of them.

My energy levels still were lower than I would like. I fell asleep while playing Borderlands. Today, I think I will go do some short lifting if I do so again. I do not want to build the habit of taking naps. Its great for some people, but not something I want to do.

Today’s Goals

I am going to write the next two blog posts for both my entreprenuerial journey which I post here. I create the last ones this weekend and this morning I scheduled one to be posted for this blog called, “Blogging in the Age of ChatGPT: My Personal Workflow.” Tomorrow the other one I created will be dropped on my personal website “The Mindful Leader’s Guide to Thriving” blog. If I do have the time I will continue work on my book, but I anticipate that my time will be spent more with my kids and doing chores.

Thanks again for being my accountability partners in my entrepreneurial journey. If you have things you also want to accomplish definitely share those in comments so I can help be your accountability partner as well! Have a great and productive day!

--

--

Jared Viernes

Entrepreneur, CEO and owner of "The Mindful Leader's Guide to Thriving" a Wichita, Kansas based blog. Owner and CEO of Otaku Oasis Designs which makes AI art.